DEV Community

Cover image for There's no 'I' in Team
ShaunR23
ShaunR23

Posted on

There's no 'I' in Team

What's happened until this point

It feels like time is flying already with this course. The first three weeks we were with the Develop Carolina team five days a week. We all worked on our pitch decks to present a project while onboarding with our employer hosts. It was a nice three weeks for me to find a rhythm to working remote because it's very new to me.

Now we are in our second week with our host companies, which for me is Booz Allen Hamilton. I haven't been assigned to a project yet, but I'm still learning a lot. I've been taking advantage of the free Udemy courses, and getting to talk about what I've done with my mentor to help hammer home concepts. I'm excited to see what kind of project I will be on and to be on a team.

Collaboration

At the end of our first three weeks we found out what our projects would be. I got a paired up to work with Wayne on his Engaged app idea. It's going to be a lot of fun to work on, but also challenging. Communication and team work will play a huge role in our success. Being open to each others approaches and ideas, helping each other through difficult tasks, and having trust in one another. Not only is this key for the umbrella project, but also for working with Booz Allen or any team. In my past career I've been on many teams where there wasn't much communication or collaboration and the results were never good. I look forward to having the chance to collaborate more in this field, and to improve my collaborating skills.

Top comments (0)