DEV Community

Cover image for How do you share your projects on your portfolio website?
Anower Jahan Shofol
Anower Jahan Shofol

Posted on

How do you share your projects on your portfolio website?

I am planning to make a simple portfolio website of mine.

Why?

I want to share that with my potential clients. And, I always wanted to know how other freelance/ professional developers share their portfolio/ projects with clients?

Make it. What's the problem?

The problem is - most of my projects done for clients are their own web applications. Some of these applications are not live and some of the clients didn't give me the live link.

So, how do I share my past projects which are done for a client? Screenshots? Videos or deploy codes on netlify and link them?

What do you do? And, can you share your one (that'll help us for some inspiration)?

Cover Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
pallymore profile image
Yurui Zhang

I'm thinking about making a personal portfolio site as well - I think as developers it's probably more important to highlight your role/experiences in each project:

  1. what did you do
  2. what did you learn
  3. project highlights (challenges, stories, impacts, awards, etc.)

the details (screenshots, for example) are probably not that important.

Think from the standpoint of a visitor to your site:
who they might be? (peers, recruiters?
what they are looking for? (my guess is they are not looking for project inspirations, or a product they are looking to buy, they want to know more about you.

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

I’ve just recently added a showcase element to my Jekyll theme bulma clean theme because I wanted a way of doing this. The showcase allows for a screenshot, description, GitHub stars count, features list, tags and a link.

Here it is in use on my site to show some side projects with some real content.