DEV Community

Cover image for What should be in a front end developer's portfolio site to impress the client or recruiter?
Anower Jahan Shofol
Anower Jahan Shofol

Posted on

What should be in a front end developer's portfolio site to impress the client or recruiter?

So, what things must be in a front end developer's portfolio website?

  • Amazing animations?
  • My unfinished projects?
  • Projects of the company I worked for?
  • The small responsive site I made years ago?
  • Can you share yours..., please?

Background

Every time I search for Front end Developer's portfolio on google, the results blow my mind and head. The websites are so good. The designs, motions, and animations are so good that I don't know when can I achieve that! And, I got it disappointing every time.

I tried to make a portfolio site which will be amazing and buy me - Clients or a Remote Job! But, it ended me in a loop. I am not getting enough time to do this amazing site with my full-time job.

But, I badly in need of a portfolio site for switching to freelance/remote career.

Cover image courtesy: Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
yaser profile image
Yaser Al-Najjar

Projects, projects, and more projects!

Don't listen to the guy who tells you certification does not matter.

EVERYTHING DOES MATTER!

You will need to list your education background.

However, focus on the projects, the skills you have, and you career experiences.

Write some intro about yourself cuz people love hearing "people". Soft skills also matter.

Also, don't forget to be concise with everything you list.

Collapse
 
lepinekong profile image
lepinekong

I don't think you should make something just to impress: you should make a project that makes sense to YOU. What recruiters want to know is not just your technical skills but your culture fit so commit LITTLE BY LITTLE ;)

Collapse
 
xanderyzwich profile image
Corey McCarty

Work on it over time. You can make changes as you go and polish it whenever you have an idea, or when you learn a new trick.