DEV Community

Cover image for Winning my first Hacktoberfest!
SHOURYA GUPTA
SHOURYA GUPTA

Posted on

Winning my first Hacktoberfest!

🎆Hello!! Everyone reading this.✨

This is my first post on dev & I'm so excited to tell my journey of my first Hacktoberfest Event.

Backstory

It all started when I came across this event on the very 1st day of this October month when I came across a WhatsApp forward that enthusiastic coder and developers can contribute to a month long festival of contributing to the open source. Truly speaking the winning swag by contributing to Open-Source attracted me more than the contribution that I made.
But still with no pre-knowledge of how to contribute to this open source world I just blindly jumped into this task and with the help of the web and YouTube and my persisting knowledge of DSA I some how learnt to create my first pull request.

It was a leap of new era for my coding career as well; I learnt more than I could contribute to this open source world.

Main Event

My first PR to count towards the event was :
qwert-ji which was on 1st Oct.
Seeing that already 1 out of 4 PR was already done, I was on a rampage to find more repos tagged with the hacktoberfest labels to contribute to.

Contributions

Here's the list of the PR's that I submitted, counted towards the event :

STICMedicaps
qwert-ji
Astrodevil
AkshayNachappa
ieeeiasvit
rohithmaddz
guptaravi5400
throwaway-root
manish-virgat
basava1134
hctnm2
JayanthSriram27

If you'll look at all the PR's I've made during this time, you'll notice that all of them are minor yet notable changes and these contributions meet the criteria for being counted towards the hacktoberfest event.

I'm starting to get the hang of it now by actually interacting with maintainers and other contributors. It's such a welcoming community who guide beginners with such patience.

Results

As the minimum PRs required to win some swag, mine were only waiting for the review period of 14 days to complete today.
My Hacktoberfest page

This time official event swag include:
Hacktoberfest T-shirt
->T-Shirts
->Stickers
->Dev.to badge

These rewards can be claimed after 4 of you're PRs have successfully passed the review.

Thank's for reading this article.
🎉🎉And congratulations to everyone if you've also won this time hacktoberfest event treat please😅.✨🎊🎊

Socials

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
darkwiiplayer profile image
𒎏Wii 🏳️‍⚧️

correct me if I'm wrong, but these repositories all look like they were specifically made to receive pull requests for hacktoberfest? Isn't the point of this event to contribute to actual open source software?

Collapse
 
adithyapaib profile image
adithyapaib

Btw, It's not a contest that you win . Its a fest that we all come in for a good cause and everyone is a winner

Collapse
 
abh1navv profile image
Abhinav Pandey

Awesome 😎

Collapse
 
0shuvo0 profile image
Shuvo • Edited

I got 5 PRs merged but I only got the T-Shirt
img