DEV Community

Shshank
Shshank

Posted on

Afraid of writing codes in JavaScript

I started out my career in PHP. I have developed quit a few websites aswell and love to write codes and currently trying to get comfortable with PHP OOP. But one thing I see around is Javascript and TBH it just scares me.

I tried to overcome this fear by following few tuts developing just the basic operations. But I didn't get over it. And moreover I love to develop application more in PHP as comapred to JavaScript maybe due to the fact that am not familier with any JavaScript framework like Vue React Node.

As I said I tried learning Javascript but each tut I follow makes me sleep, as am just getting bored of reading those basics all over again, but the fact I want to accept is that I still unaware of many basic facts in Javascript and moreover what I personally think is learning on live project is way more fun then just applying few basic operations, may be just the test app. But for that I need to have basic knowledge of the syntax and all.

And many devs suggests to learn JavaScript and farmeworks and start developing apps in it rather then sticking with PHP.

And now am thinking of learning Javascript a resource like Laracasts.com, the way Jeff teaches, a teacher who won't put you to sleep with examples and all.

And one more thing should I learn and continue with Javascript mainly or just basics are enough and I should learn a framework.

Your advice and guidance is really appreciated.

Thanks

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
odefus profile image
Otto Koivisto

From my personal experience I'd recommend getting a solid grasp on the fundamentals of JavaScript before diving in to a framework. I was pushed in to learning React with my most recent experience with JavaScript prior to it dating back well over five years. Never having fully grasped the fundamentals of JS, while still being comfortable with programming in general, I could follow the examples and could understand what was happening, but drew a blank whenever it was time to write my own code unassisted.

I went back to the basics and took some Udemy courses on plain old JS. It was absolutely worth it and helped me leverage what I had learned about React.

Collapse
 
shshank profile image
Shshank

Thanks for the great reply. :)

One more thing I want to ask is that, should I continue developing and learning PHP and head to OOP and Laravel or just continue my career in JavaScript.

Collapse
 
odefus profile image
Otto Koivisto

Unfortunately I cant give you any solid advice on that. My personal understanding is that PHP is still relevant, but the general notion about the future of PHP seems to be pretty pessimistic. I cannot speak to the accuracy of that notion as I haven't really looked in to it personally.

I guess you just have to evaluate the situation based on your personal goals. If employment is your goal, research the job market and choose whatever is more likely to land you a job weighing in your personal preferences as you see fit.