DEV Community

Cover image for ✨ From Contributor to Core Project Maintainer: My Open Source Journey ✨
shubham paul
shubham paul

Posted on

✨ From Contributor to Core Project Maintainer: My Open Source Journey ✨

It all started with a simple pull request...

I remember when I first ventured into the world of open source. My initial goal was just to solve a minor issue in a project I admired. Little did I know, that small contribution would begin an incredible journey.

Step 1: Starting as a Contributor Initially, I was nervous to contribute. I wasn’t sure if my code was good enough or if my solutions were valid. But with time, I realized that the open-source community is incredibly supportive. My early contributions focused on fixing bugs and writing documentation. With each pull request, I learned more about the project’s structure, gained confidence in my skills, and found a sense of fulfillment knowing my work was impacting developers globally.

Step 2: Building Trust and Gaining Responsibility As I became more involved, I started engaging with the community—helping other contributors, participating in discussions, and proposing enhancements. I wasn’t just coding anymore; I was shaping the direction of the project. The project's maintainers noticed my growing commitment and the quality of my contributions.

They trusted me with more responsibilities, including triaging issues and reviewing other contributors' work.

Step 3: Becoming a Core Project Maintainer Eventually, after consistent contributions and dedication, I was invited to become a core project maintainer. It was a humbling and proud moment! This role came with more responsibility—guiding the project’s roadmap, mentoring new contributors, and ensuring the project's long-term sustainability. I also became the bridge between the community and the vision of the project.

The Lessons I’ve Learned:

🌱 Start small: Every pull request, even if it’s fixing a typo, matters.
🤝 Engage with the community: Building relationships is just as important as coding.
💡 Stay consistent: Show up, contribute meaningfully, and your efforts will be noticed.
🚀 Never stop learning: The world of open source is dynamic, and there's always something new to learn.
Today, as a core maintainer, I’m excited to continue growing, helping others on their open-source journey, and contributing to the projects that make a difference. 🚀

opensource #techjourney #developerlife #opencontributor #projectmaintainer #codingcommunity

Top comments (0)