DEV Community

Cover image for From Contributor to Maintainer: My Hacktoberfest Journey 🎉
shubham paul
shubham paul

Posted on

From Contributor to Maintainer: My Hacktoberfest Journey 🎉

This is a submission for the 2024 Hacktoberfest Writing challenge: Maintainer Experience

Hey, everyone! This year’s Hacktoberfest has been quite a milestone for me, as I took the leap from contributor to maintainer for the first time! In this post, I’m excited to share my journey, some of the challenges I faced, and what I learned along the way. Hopefully, my story can inspire others to step up and maintain their own projects, or simply get involved with open source in a new way!

🌱 Starting as a Contributor

Last year was my first Hacktoberfest, and I participated as a contributor. I started small, working on minor issues, enhancing documentation, and fixing bugs. Through each pull request, I learned a lot about open-source collaboration, how repositories are structured, and how to communicate effectively with maintainers.

Contributing not only improved my technical skills but also taught me the importance of clean code, meaningful comments, and the incredible support the open-source community provides. This experience gave me the confidence to contribute to more significant projects, and by the end of last year, I knew I wanted to do more than just contribute.

✨ Becoming a Maintainer

Fast forward to this year—Hacktoberfest 2024—and I decided to step up as a maintainer. It felt like a natural progression, but it also came with a whole new set of responsibilities. Here’s how I prepared for the transition:

Choosing the Right Project: I selected a project where I felt confident in both the codebase and the purpose of the application. I wanted a project that could help the community and provide new contributors with a positive experience.

Creating Contributing Guidelines: My first task as a maintainer was to create clear and detailed contributing guidelines. It’s essential to make the contribution process as smooth as possible, especially for beginners. I also wrote a Code of Conduct to foster a respectful and inclusive environment.

Setting Up Issues and Labels: I carefully defined issues that ranged from beginner-friendly (like documentation improvements) to advanced (such as feature enhancements). Properly labeled issues helped contributors quickly find tasks that matched their skill levels.

Being Ready for Questions: As a contributor, I often had questions about issues. Now, as a maintainer, it was my turn to answer them! I made sure to be active on GitHub discussions and regularly reviewed pull requests. Communication became key, and I was constantly balancing encouragement with constructive feedback.

💡 What I Learned

Taking on the maintainer role taught me a few invaluable lessons:

  1. Empathy Matters: When reviewing PRs, it’s essential to be understanding. Every contributor is at a different skill level, so being patient and offering guidance can make all the difference.

  2. Documentation Is Gold: I underestimated the power of clear documentation until I saw contributors breeze through issues with the right guidance. Documentation really is the key to open-source success.

  3. It’s About the Community: Being a maintainer isn’t just about managing code; it’s about building a welcoming space for contributors. Celebrating their work and making them feel valued is essential.

🎉 Wrapping Up Hacktoberfest 2024

As Hacktoberfest 2024 comes to a close, I’m grateful for everything I’ve learned this year. Becoming a maintainer has not only improved my technical skills but also taught me leadership, patience, and the importance of community. Watching contributors make their first PRs and grow through my project has been incredibly fulfilling, and it’s something I hope to continue doing well beyond Hacktoberfest.

For anyone thinking of becoming a maintainer, I say go for it! It’s challenging, but the rewards are absolutely worth it.

Thank you for reading! I’d love to hear about your Hacktoberfest experiences in the comments.

Github Link: https://github.com/Lets-code-with-us/scamwebsiteV1

Top comments (0)