DEV Community

Cover image for How my IT adventure started
Łukasz Szymański
Łukasz Szymański

Posted on

How my IT adventure started

Hello All,

I decided to create this post because I want to break into writing and improve my English (I'm from Poland).

I had been thinking about writing here for a long time, but as is usually the case with me, I was afraid of the opinions of others.

Why? I don't know.

But today, I decided to break through and share with you my story about my beginnings in IT.

So let's get started.

It was in 2021, during the COVID pandemic. I was working in education and thinking about changing my life. The first thing that came to mind was IT because I have always been passionate about computers and how they work, etc.

In an attempt to find my place in IT, cybersecurity was my first thought. Maybe it was because I had watched too much "Mr. Robot." So, I decided to take an introductory course.

For two weeks, I had meetings, tasks, gained a lot of knowledge, worked with virtual machines, hacked websites, and played games.

After two weeks, we had an exam, and I passed with a score of 73% (I don't remember the exact number, but it was more than 70%).

However, it wasn't for me. I tried learning a lot of programming languages and watched webinars about Python, C#, Java, Kotlin...

I was searching for my place for a year.

But I finally decided to try to become a Frontend Developer.

In 2022, I quit my job and focused on becoming a frontend developer. I did this without purchasing courses or bootcamps, as they say, everything you want is available on the internet.

So, I started learning...

Top comments (0)