DEV Community

Łukasz Szymański
Łukasz Szymański

Posted on

My first technical task for internship

Hi,

Today, I want to write about my first task as a frontend developer intern.

This happened three months after I seriously started learning to code, and for the first time, I was very scared. When I received a document with tasks to complete, my initial reaction was, “I can’t do this,” and “There are too many things to do.” However, after two days, I sat down at the computer, opened the technical document and Visual Studio Code, and began coding.

The project was a banking app that displayed incoming and outgoing transfers as well as the balance. Within two days, I had created a visual concept of the app, including every button, registration and login form, all with Responsive Design, using minimal code.

The problems began when I started working on the website: user registration (saving data), logging in (retrieving data), and probably the biggest challenge (displaying data from the API using Chart.js). Considering that I was just starting with Javascript, I had to accelerate my learning.

In the end, I attempted to complete all tasks for the application. Although I didn’t pass the first step, I learned a lot while working on the banking app.

Reflecting on my frontend learning journey, I decided to change my approach. Now, after gaining basic knowledge on a topic, before starting to code, I try to find a project with challenges that I haven’t yet encountered.

And remember…

Code every day :)

Top comments (0)