DEV Community

Cover image for It's beginning to feel a lot like Christmas...
Jennifer Davis
Jennifer Davis

Posted on

It's beginning to feel a lot like Christmas...

It's that time of year again! Sadly while I love to decorate for Christmas as early as possible, my partner in life declares it's not acceptable until the day after Thanksgiving. Decorating isn't the only way to usher in the period of reflection and renewal at the end of the year. Now is the time to plan and think about community advents that you want to contribute towards and in some cases start working on your submissions.

đź’ˇWhat is an Advent?

Advents are generally a 24 to 25 day, 1 post per day for December (Sometimes January!). There are also coding advents!

đź’ˇ What ways can I contribute?

There are many topic-specific advents, and a variety of ways to contribute from writing, editing, reviewing, reading, and commenting.

đź’ˇ I'm new to the industry, can I contribute?

My feelings are "đź’Ż yes!" though it does vary between the different sites. I love seeing different levels of articles because it gives me new insight into various topics and makes me think through the knowledge that I just accept!

đź’ˇ What events exist?

Too many to list them all but here's a selection showing the wide scope of topics:

I'll be contributing to the Azure Advent Calendar and Sysadvent events! What 🦄community advents🦄 will you write, edit, read, or otherwise contribute to? Are you running an advent?

I'd love to see a way we can host and collaborate on advent style blogs here on dev.to in the future. This definitely doesn't need to just be an end of year event. Earlier this year, we tried out creating a month of delightful content for Azure April with multiple authors. I shared some of the challenges we had with multiple authors in the summary post.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

No, stop it. Staaaaaap iiiiit.
Don't use the C-word before December.

Collapse
 
marcellothearcane profile image
marcellothearcane

Oooohhh, jingle bells, jingle bells, jingle all the way! 🎶

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Gah! Begone!

Thread Thread
 
marcellothearcane profile image
marcellothearcane

Grinch!

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem • Edited
Collapse
 
sigje profile image
Jennifer Davis

Oh awesome! I hadn't seen this one before! Thank you for sharing.