DEV Community

Jouini Hamza
Jouini Hamza

Posted on

Free webhosting are bad

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
nicolasguzca profile image
Nick

Free web hosting are very bad, and keep getting worse. They will inject scripts and own the data you put in them

My recommendation is to find a very cheap hosting or get creative and spin up your own server and install an open source control panel like Vesta or Sentora. AWS Lightsail has great cheap offerings that work extremely good!

Collapse
 
marcus profile image
Marcus M

You get what you pay for. In this case you get very bad hosting and injected scripts, like @sduduzog said in his comment.

I'm actually amazed that there are still companies that give you free webspace and actually get profit of it.

My recommendation:
Drop free webhosting and pay a few dollars for a dedicated servers that you can configure to your hearts content. I recommend hetzner.com, good tech, helpful customer-service and cheap prices for the performance they provide.

Collapse
 
sduduzog profile image
Sdu

Shared hosting is actually very cheap and easy to manage. Best for personal projects. I once noticed that some free hosting service injected some scripts on every file I served to my users