DEV Community

Cover image for How to Debug and Solve an App Sandbox Related Issue Within the Xcode IDE
Kyra
Kyra

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at simplykyra.com

How to Debug and Solve an App Sandbox Related Issue Within the Xcode IDE

I just wanted to start out by saying that this is an abridged version of my original published version from May 19, 2021 that you can find on my website here and was originally written when I was using Xcode version 12.5 (12E262)


Back when I first attempted to work with SSH through my Apple MacOS application I came to the realization that my application was incapable of using the network because of Apple’s App Sandbox.

The full version of just what sandboxing is, steps I took to discover this, and how I solved it can be found in my original post. I'll cut to the chase and just say it came down to a single checkmark that I found by clicking my target and going under App Sandbox, Network, and checking off (placing a check mark on the) Outgoing Connections (Client). In Xcode version 12.5 (12E262) this looked like:

The value is checked off here

With that checked off my application was easily able to make outgoing connections through the glory of SSH connections... using Citadel.


I show that and the entire process of discovery and how to at my SimplyKyra website where this original and longer published version from May 19, 2021 lives.

Have a great day!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
samit-reflectcode profile image
Samit

Thanks Kyra, the word "checked off" is so confusing, I think you mean to say "checked on", may be "Check", "Uncheck" is even better :-)