DEV Community

Kanavsingh
Kanavsingh

Posted on

🌈 Day 5 of #90DaysOfDevOps: Unlocking Advanced Linux Shell Scripting & User Management! πŸš€

Hey, Dev.to fam! πŸŽ‰ It’s Day 5 of my #90DaysOfDevOps challenge, and today, we’re going deeper into the magic of Linux shell scripting and user management. Let me walk you through the exciting things I learned! ✨

πŸ—οΈ Creating 90 Directories in a Snap!
Why click and create folders when Linux does it all in seconds? πŸš€ Here’s the command that gave me 90 directories in a blink:

mkdir day{1..90}

Just like thatβ€”90 directories were created! Automation saves time, which is what DevOps is all about, right? ⏳

πŸ› οΈ Custom Directory Creation Script
To spice things up, I wrote a Bash script to create directories based on user input. Run the script with three arguments: the directory name, starting number, and ending number. For example:

./createDirectories.sh day 1 90

Creates day1, day2, all the way up to day90. 🎯 Here’s the full script:

_#!/bin/bash
prefix=$1
start=$2
end=$3

for i in $(seq $start $end)
do
mkdir "$prefix$i"
done
echo "Your directories are ready! πŸŽ‰"_

πŸ” The Power of Backups in DevOps
As a DevOps engineer, taking backups is crucial. I wrote a simple script to back up my work and will soon integrate it with cron to automate it! Imagineβ€”never worrying about losing data again. πŸ”’

πŸ‘₯ Exploring Linux User Management
Users are the lifeblood of any system, and managing them is critical. I created two new users today:

sudo useradd alice
sudo useradd bob

And voila! Alice and Bob are now part of my Linux world. 🌍

πŸ€– Automating with Cron
Automation is what makes DevOps powerful, and today I read up on cron. I’ll use crontab to schedule my backup script so it runs daily without any manual input. Just set it, forget it, and relax! 😎

πŸ“š Takeaway:
Today's focus on advanced scripting and user management has deepened my understanding of Linux as a DevOps engineer. Automating repetitive tasks frees up time to work on bigger, more important challenges. What are your favorite Linux tips? Let’s chat in the comments! πŸ’¬

DevOps #Linux #BashScripting #Automation #CronJobs #BackupScripts #UserManagement #CodingJourney

Top comments (0)