DEV Community

Cover image for Need Help
Debak Roy
Debak Roy

Posted on

Need Help

Hello😊, I am Debak Roy a 2nd year computer science and engineering student from India and I am struggling a lot choosing the right path.

Due to my college courses I had to learn C programming Language so I went ahead and learnt it as best as I could after learning it I did a little Competitive Programming for about 3 months at the end of my first year and also started learning C++ as most of the folks in the CP community preferred C++ over other languages. When I got promoted to 2nd year I got to learn about many new things like open source, web development, machine learning and a few more. I knew a little bit about open source already so I watched some videos and it really peaked my interest in open source contribution. But since I only knew C properly finding projects made with C is really hard and I didn't find any😥 I could work on.
Then I turned to web development as I really wanted to make a cool looking website😎 so I started watching some YouTube videos on the topic. After a few videos I came to realize that I had to learn 3 languages -> HTML, CSS and JavaScript but I was already learning C++ and DSA in C.

With all the college course pressure and no idea which path to follow I am really confused and I am in need of some help.

--> Also I am saying these with getting a job in my mind.

Any kind of help is greatly appreciated.

Thank You for reading and your precious time.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
deadlock profile image
Satyajiijt Roy • Edited

@slayeh17 actually the choice is completely yours and I also understand the confusion you are sailing through with which path to choose. I would say try to find the passion in you for anything you like.

I would strongly recommend that don't fall into the trap of computer languages. I would suggest to choose a path based on that try to learn the appropriate language for it.
Computer Language is just means to achieve the goal with your project. Based on the project requirements you decide which language. Not the other way around.

So, ask these questions to yourself

  1. Do I enjoy making cool, shiny frontend interface ?
  2. Do I enjoy writing API which deals with mostly backend systems ?
  3. Is AI or Machine Learning is something Interest me more ?
  4. Is OS Internal, Data Structure and solving complex problem interest me more ?
  5. Is Big Data System is something I should look at ?

What you should do, will solely depend on where you see yourself down the line. Based on the that decision decide on the tools, language etc you need.

BTW here are some awesome projects for the languages you mentioned

Hope this helps to clear your mind a little bit.

Collapse
 
slayeh17 profile image
Debak Roy • Edited

Thank You , it cleared my mind a lot😊
Thanks for sharing the project too.

Collapse
 
deadlock profile image
Satyajiijt Roy

Also, Regarding Jobs in the market has much more to do with gaining experience on the relevant field. Tools are just the means for it. This should give you little more insight about the trends in the present market.

Collapse
 
slayeh17 profile image
Debak Roy

Thank You, I am going through each one of them😁

Collapse
 
joelbonetr profile image
JoelBonetR 🥇 • Edited

As @deadlock pointed out, programming languages are tools to interact with a given environment and each environment has it's purpose/s.

You need to find out which path is more of your interest, start checking the overview on each, let's say

  • Web Apps
  • Mobile Apps
  • Desktop Apps
  • OSs
  • Videogames
  • Machine Learning (Deep Learning, AI, NN...)
  • Big Data (developer, analyst, data miner...)
  • Blockchain
  • ...

There are different ways to reach an understanding on what you like and what you don't. Some would be by trial and error, others not necessarily.

i.e. I know I won't like developing videogames because I follow some Indie gamedevs in youtube and I acknowledged the process of development. I try to see myself in the middle of that and it's not something I'd like.

On the other hand, I've tried to make webapps back those days (more than a decade ago) and it was fun to me. Then I tried to make an Android App (3 or 4 times) and it was quite frustrating even finishing the expected, so it's something I try to avoid.

With that in mind I became a web dev.
Now I remember almost nothing about C and C++ (several years without using them) but increased greatly my knowledge in JavaScript (and in between also C#, Java, PHP and others).

Collapse
 
slayeh17 profile image
Debak Roy

Thank You for your insight I will try to go through each one of them and see which suits me. 😊