DEV Community

Nic
Nic

Posted on • Originally published at coderscat.com on

I Use These Awesome Tools for Writing

2020_04_01_tools-i-used-for-writing.org_20200403_231148.png

Figure 1: Photo by Eugen Str on Unsplash

After several months of writing, I found my favorite tools and workflow.

Here it’s the list; I will update it whenever I found more useful tools.

Writing

Editors

I’m an Emacs user, and org-mode is an awesome package for writing documents. org-mode can export files to the format of HTML or markdown. I blogging with org2blog, push my post to WordPress conveniently.

2020_04_01_tools-i-used-for-writing.org_20200403_230227.png

My WordPress is hosted on Vultr, Vultr is easy to use and the cost is low enough for beginners.

I also write some Markdown files, and typora is the best markdown editor.

Writing assistant

grammarly is a tool for English writing clear and effective. I use a premium version for checking my typos or any other syntax errors in English writing. Most of the time, it helps for error-free writing, but don’t rely on it too much. This kind of error checking program can not be flawless.

Pictures and illustration

Free images

In most posts, I would like to find a suitable feature picture for my pieces.

unsplash is my favorite. There are thousands of images and pictures created by lots of artists. Most important, according to the license, we can use these resources freely.

pixabay is another similar website that contains free images.

Visualization tools

If I want to draw a diagram, flowchart, or visualize my ideas, I will choose creately.com.

It contains many professional templates and shapes, and the UI is convenient.

2020_04_01_tools-i-used-for-writing.org_20200403_224157.png

In some scenarios, I also want to draw some features illustrations. I mainly use these illustrations as features covers.

icons8.com is an excellent tool for this task. I use icons8 to create this:

2020_04_01_tools-i-used-for-writing.org_20200403_224428.png

I use freelogodesign.com to design a logo.

File management

Since I write all my posts with org-mode, all of my posts are stored as plain text files.

I use Dropbox to sync all the files to the remote server so that I could work on multiple devices without any pain.

I also use Git for version control, but I don’t commit every day. Because Dropbox will backup for me at any time.

The post I Use These Awesome Tools for Writing appeared first on Coder's Cat.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
catchase profile image
Catchase • Edited

Awesome tools! Thank you for sharing! They will be useful for many people, but sometimes it is better to use the help of professional services, such as this one that helped me with my residency statement. I'm not good at writing, that's why I decided to apply to this company, as I was sure they'd deliver an awesome paper.

Collapse
 
jamesmorr profile image
Jamesmorr

Great share! I've made this tool essaytoolbox.com/essay-typer recently. It generates a funny essays.

Collapse
 
goldyyy profile image
Samy Smith

Essay writing services, such as the one provided, are reliable and affordable, being crafted to meet each student’s expectations. You can lose crucial marks based on your spelling, punctuation and grammar ( masterpapers.com/cpm-homework-help ). Let us fix it for you to really make your work pop.

Collapse
 
zaynaib profile image
Zaynaib (Ola) Giwa

Thanks Nick! I really need this, especially the visualization tool!!!!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.