DEV Community

Cover image for 10 Self-Care Tips for a Great Vacation
Doug Arcuri
Doug Arcuri

Posted on

10 Self-Care Tips for a Great Vacation

As I sat on a bench on my vacation, watching my better halves browse in the Olde Shoppes, I identified my vacation behaviors to maximize decompression and minimize exhaustion. With the goal of self-care and peaceful continuity, I wrote a list of practical actions to promote a healthy relationship with my employer.

Starting with My Manager

A great vacation starts with a good relationship with my manager. In time, I'll discuss supportive vacation needs, who can support the team in my absence, and uphold ongoing work so I can enjoy the time away.

Occasionally, stepping away from what I own is a challenge. By checking in periodically, my pattern had caused stressful vacations, a regular occurrence until I burned out. After breaking down, I said no to my illicit behaviors.

Self-Care Tips for a Better Vacation

Assuming relations with the manager are great, and project management applies schedule adjustments to meet goals. Practicing self-constraint begins with a list of reasonable guidelines. What are my patterns of self-care?

1. Pressing pause on meetings - committing to meetings during a break, especially in the middle, is a recipe for a ruined holiday. I may acquire information during the meeting that is a time-sensitive action item. It's best to leave the sessions until I return.

2. Setting away messages - to signal clear intentions, I set an away message, decline meetings in the vacation path, and place an out-of-office block on the calendar. If an appointment is necessary, I'd know by the owner's response to my declined invite. We will reschedule when I return.

3. Emails and Slack can wait - responding to a message can interrupt vacation. Checking for who sent a message has an exacting mechanism, as I will acquire information and may be called to action, which inflicts stress.

4. Reassign stories and tasks - my assigned timeboxed duties may be incomplete as I step away for vacation. Before leaving, I'll communicate expectations to those who await results, asking for a team reassignment or alternative closing strategy. To uphold my reputation, I'd like to leave with questions answered about unfinished work.

5. Leave the notebook behind - during vacations, I avoid taking my work notebook with me. Keeping a distance from the accessibility is essential, and communicating my intention of space is a courtesy to the team. And if I am scheduled for on-call support, I partner with a teammate to schedule an override.

6. Limit screen time - since computers and phones are accessible around me, I'd sometimes drift into working on passion projects during vacation. Balancing this time is a conscious effort, and it's sometimes essential to say no, stepping away from the screen.

7. Balance domain knowledge - while being an expert in a particular product area has its benefits, it has a way of coming back to me while taking a vacation. So if I suspect I am the primary contact, I proactively share knowledge, promoting a convo of support. I'll work towards providing the team with a delegate in my absence.

8. Consider contiguous days - achieving decompression within a few short days can be challenging for me—taking a Friday and banking on the weekend for relief usually falls short. So, I try to take contiguous work days. My ideal length of time is a work week.

9. Asking for giveback days - I'll speak to my manager about giveback days for those vacations where I am required to act unexpectedly. Few managers will proactively give these credits to those they call in, but for those who forget, ask. Importantly, I've learned I was critical, so I'll attempt to balance out the knowledge next time.

10. Compartmentalize FOMO - my fear of missing out is a constant reality. I must believe the team will cover. The work will be there when I return, so it's best to take the vacation fully, diving into diversions and enjoying those around me.

What I Do Reflects on Others

Discovering these common-sense items took time. More so, to have the self-restraint to say, "No, don't do that!" Of course, I sometimes drifted too far, scolding myself for acquiring information I've stewed on for the remaining vacation.

How I behave on vacations has a reflective property within the team. Whatever I do, is what they may do. I'll remember to take a better break, returning well-rested and at my best for the team. More so, my family will appreciate my efforts to be present.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
domters profile image
Mike Peters • Edited

Hi. Good post. I also recommend to rent a car in your trip. It is really comfortable and you will be able to visit all interested places without any doubt. Personally I used car rental services in US from addcarrental.com/US.php company, they offer cool prices and also provide extensive range of cars to choose!