DEV Community

Sopulu Nwafor
Sopulu Nwafor

Posted on

How Would You Bring It together?

Hello Everyone, My name is Sopulu. Am a self-taught software developer (of course, most of us are) or should I say self-teaching. Teaching yourself something you had no prior experience of can be very hard and fun at the same time. I have been having a problem with something and I need help

I want to help SMEs build an engaging online presence with their own platforms(Their websites) but I noticed that most of them rely solely on social media platforms Facebook pages for example to manage their online presence. You can immediately tell the reason for this. Easy to manage and easy to get engagements. I also noticed that some even forgot they own a website. So I wanted to give them something that'll allow them to engage customers and also easy to use.

I had read about PWAs and all the features that came along with them. I decided they'd best fit for what I had in mind. From the features, The websites will behave like native apps, fast load times, and works offline most importantly take advantage of push notifications. There'll be a notification icon so when the business updates any information on the website visitors can see a number of notifications missed. Apart from these, it'll be basic. The pages will be the same old about contact etc and a products page to list their products and/or blog for those who want blogs. No checkout or cart any e-commerce functionality. The features will be added as the owner wants. For this, I had many thoughts. I also wanted the business to be able to manage its content. Like, upload new images and articles or stuff. I did some research and discovered Strapi.

The technical part of this stuff has been very challenging since am just starting out in this field and not yet very experienced. I have problems with coming up with the right tech stack. For a moment I'd think reactjs was the way to go then I would see another one like Polymer and I also saw something about SSR frameworks like next and how they were better for SEO purposes and it seemed like the right choice. I have so much confusion about a lot of things. Like, am still confused as to whether you still need to write backend code when using headless cms like Strapi.

I would really like some guidance and advice based on this. Any sort of help would be appreciated. By the way, I came u with this idea by talking to SMEs and am already pitching it to them and they do nourish the idea of having such a platform to their name.

My name is Sopulu Started out learning to code on my phone(mostly reading) because I want to use technology to solve problems. I started out with HTML and CSS and Javascript dived a little bit into python. There was too much buzz about it. Wanted to see for myself. Now am doing backend with Nodejs and express.

Top comments (0)