DEV Community

Soujanya Satpute
Soujanya Satpute

Posted on

Coding journey Begins here

It starts with just hello world!
Then you sit with your first code, and something doesn't work. You sit there for hours. If you are lucky, you can make it work in minutes, or debugging is your full-time job.
I wanted to be a developer. And I want to be in the top 1% of it. But I am Gen Z, born when insecurity and self-doubts were humping on their best day. Sorry, mom and dad. It's nothing about you!
So I decide I want to be the best at coding. I want to give dedicated time to it daily. 2 hours maybe! I want to commit at least 10 requests on GitHub daily for the next 6 months. And the journey begins.
I did some online courses, But still, I am not good enough. As a developer, I am only good at copying and pasting code from one place to another, and nothing more than that; this was my self-talk.
But for the first time in my life, I was enjoying the process of debugging most of my stupid mistakes. I was enjoying it to my knuckles and bones.

Then came the perfectionist monster from my brain, pushing me into the valley of darkness. And to be honest, my brain loves living there in the perfect world. I wasn't finishing my portfolio project, a stepping stone if you want to apply for jobs. Not because I can't do it, but because it will be all real. And I am the imposter who's not good enough.
But I want to finish that portfolio. I want to make a list of projects that I can put on it, and I want to apply for zestful jobs that will give me the thrill of jumping through airplanes.
I am giving myself a timeline here. In the next 2 days, I want to create the final version of the portfolio that I can put on my resume. And I will be documenting this with Dev Community here weekly.
The gist of a good programmer is to create enough distance between you and your brain. To make the best products. And I want to learn how to do that.

Top comments (0)