DEV Community

SparkedScience
SparkedScience

Posted on • Updated on

Open-WC, but for Macs

People always ask why I use a Mac when I develop. Honestly, I'm so used to the Linux command line, Mac just makes sense for me. Also, I can have a virtual machine of a Windows computer or create a Windows desktop to remote into; it's not as easy to get an OS X ISO file, or I've just never had to try to know how difficult it is. Open WC has some really good tutorials to get set up, but I'll give you the copy and paste commands needed to get up and running.

Requirements

You'll need Homebrew, or brew for short, to use yarn commands. You'll also need npm and node.js. Thanks to (this tutorial)[https://tecadmin.net/install-homebrew-macos/], I found the brew install command again.

ruby -e "$(curl -fsSL https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Homebrew/install/master/install)"

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And then yarn is

brew install yarn
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

within terminal.
We also use brew to install npm and node. Node.js is also needed for our development. To get node, and by extension npm, paste

brew install node
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

into the terminal.

Open-wc

Surprisingly, there's only one more command to run,

npm init @open-wc
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If your current version of Node does not have open-wc, it will search for the required packages and install them. You'll then be prompted through menus to create a new project or update an old one. At this point, Open-wc's tooling is on your machine. I have run through my own tutorial on a fresh Linux image, which is identical except for brew, with positive results. So, I with you the best of luck with your own OS X development. I suggest VS Code for a free IDE, or Jet Brains' Web Storm if your university or work offers you a license. Please don't just use TextEdit or XCode.

Top comments (0)