DEV Community

SparkedScience
SparkedScience

Posted on • Updated on

Who I am, for the third time...

Because I've taken this class three times now, but some things have changed. Mainly, I am now a web developer for THON! I am a developer for our THON Weekend Dashboard, a system that is used by hundreds of volunteers for tracking and building entry for our events through the year. I also have created one joke of a web component (b-r) and a serious one (barcode-reader). b-r just inserts
tags for conditional rendering purposes. barcode-reader can read and interoperate qr codes and barcodes through a user's camera. That one was a challenge, but I am proud of the tag.

I have been interested in web development ever since the Design to Make a Difference competition my senior year of high school. It was my first experience with web development, and I was the backend developer and system admin for a mental health chat website that two of us created from scratch. We used GitHub for all of our development and hosting needs, and Pusher Chatkit of the chat feature. Since then, I have been keeping my programming and web development skills sharp with online tutorials. I have primarily focused on Django, a Python web framework. Python is one of my favorite languages since I have a lot of Raspberry Pis. As for my current experience, as I mentioned I am a THON Tech captain. We use Django and Vue for our websites, so my Python and JavaScript skills are tested every day. I have also been continuing development with my mental health website, just under a new name and a new plan. Hopefully that's enough to understand my programming background, and maybe you get a sense of how much I yell at my computer when I work.

Top comments (0)