DEV Community

Cover image for My First Flatiron Project!
Stacy Daniel
Stacy Daniel

Posted on • Updated on

My First Flatiron Project!

For my very first project at Flatiron, I was given the task of building a Ruby CLI Application, by either scrapping or utilizing an API from a public website.

Initially I struggled with ideas for my project. I went through so many different APIs before deciding to build an app that would utilize data on the newly developing islands in the Caribbean.

My application uses the Rest Countries Caricom regional bloc API, which allows any user to list a few of the Caribbean Community, better known as the Caricom countries along with their capital cities and population.

First thing I needed to do was build an API class, which gathered all the information from my url. Secondly, a Country class which initializes object instances for my Caricom countries. And last but not least, a CLI class which interacts with the user/users.

Overall, I am very happy with how my project came out. My hardest struggle was not being able to properly execute my ideas in the CLI class, but after weeks of ferociously coding and with the help of my tutor Brandon, I can proudly say I am very happy to be able to immerse myself in greater depths of understanding Ruby!

Top comments (0)