DEV Community

Stefan Moore
Stefan Moore

Posted on

Posting to LinkedIn

When I create post on dev.to should I post the same thing on LinkedIn or post something different?

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Good question, Stefan!

I think it's generally a good idea to cross-post content if you're hoping to reach more folks! I suppose the downside is primarily the work involved and arguably not having one centralized spot for the article (but idk if that really matters.)

Notably, we have features on DEV that let folks set the canonical link to help with SEO... this is primarily a feature for folks who are reposting their personal blogs on DEV. Speaking of, here's a really great post written by a DEV community member that describes best practices for reposting content on DEV.

Another pattern that you might consider is to post a short message on LinkedIn about your article and link to the version on DEV. I've seen a fair amount of folks do this and we actually have a LinkedIn account where we repost articles by community members — check it out! We try to select articles that we feel are more career-focused to put out over LinkedIn... you may or may not want to do this with your own work.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Thanks, I'll dig into this tonight.

Collapse
 
sergeypodgornyy profile image
Sergey Podgornyy

I think it depends who is your target audience. I don't have a feeling that LinkedIn is a good source for reading technical articles, so I personally only share a post to my feed with a short description and link to the original content.

Collapse
 
bogomil profile image
Bogomil Shopov - Бого

Hi,
I, for example, have a newsletter on LI, and I duplicate and sometimes extend the content here. I find the engagement here better than at LI.

Collapse
 
stefanmoore profile image
Stefan Moore

Thanks for the input. I'm still learning the ropes and wasn't sure if I should "double dip". I'll have to consider posting on LinkedIn and expanding my content on here.

Collapse
 
shoptinhyeuvn profile image
Shop tình yêu shoptinhyeu.vn

Depending on whether you have time or not. If you have time, perhaps you should post different content.