DEV Community

Cover image for Hey Gatsby fans - what's so great about Gatsby?
Ste Griffiths
Ste Griffiths

Posted on

Hey Gatsby fans - what's so great about Gatsby?

I love Jekyll. I've built tons of sites in Jekyll. It's easy to set up and work with, and it Just Works with GitHub pages, Netlify and the rest (I suppose GitHub Pages was the reason Jekyll first got popular).

Recently, I've seen many a post here about Gatsby. Now my question is this - "What's so great about Gatsby?" ...as compared to the other static site generators?

I have a feeling - feel free to correct me - that the answer boils down to "Because JavaScript"

I see that it builds React apps so obviously that's worth hype points right out of the gate.

So please can all the Gatsby users and enthusers jump into the comments and fill me in? Maybe somebody can convince me that I'm missing out!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
mikeck profile image
Mike CK • Edited

I love Gatsby's image processing + the PWA result I get... However, I always choose Hugo if speed and how lean the generated website is are major concerns.