DEV Community

Stewart Wong
Stewart Wong

Posted on

Important lesson I’ve learnt after switching to software development

‪I studied automotive engineering, ‬took a business diploma, ‬graduated with a psychology degree ‬and yet I’m now a cyber security software engineer for 3 years and it has been the best thing that had ever to happen to me! ‬

It’s definitely not easy learning new things all the time. But having all these unrelated formal educations had taught me one important aspect, be persistence.

I am not the brightest person around, that might explain why I have been all over the places in my education background. But I am persistent enough to get to where I am now.

On many occasion during my current role which I have so much joy with, I had wondered, what if I started my career as a software engineer after finishing my computer science degree. If with the pace that I am going at now, if I was younger I might have progress far far more at this current stage. I might be in a management position, I might even be a tech business founder. Or will I be still a wonderer, thinking of what should I be doing next?

We will never know (Unless we figured out how to turn back time)! But my diverse education background had definitely helped contributing much of the choices I have made so far. From my business education and sales experience, I understand the motivation of my company to move forward. With my psychology studies, I have learnt the capability of our brain and mind, and how to absorb new knowledge faster and reliably. And with my years of experience talking to others and working in organisations, I know the importance of communication.

It’s sad to hear that for many people that I have spoke they never got a chance to reshape their career. All with very valid reasons on why that is so. And for them I would say..

If you think you are going no where in your current career, find something else that will interest you. Explore a little and plan your next move hard and wise. But if it did not work out so well for the first time, try it again for second time or even third! I have the impulse to say don’t stop until you are happy at what you are, but it’s unfortunate that we have a time limit to our life. So I hope you will one day find a thing you are happy to do till the end of your life.

As many business owners would have agree, failures are just lessons to success. Not everyone is lucky enough to strike gold on your first pick.

So if you really want something in your life, set your goal and move towards it, no matter how tough it can be! And if it did not turn out well, replan and set your course again.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
niklastiede profile image
Niklas Tiede

Pretty inspiring, thanks for sharing =)