DEV Community

Sualeh Fatehi
Sualeh Fatehi

Posted on

What a Character

I've developed a comprehensive programmer's guide for managing international text in code. It features detailed examples in Java, JavaScript, and Python, with each slide offering easily digestible information. The "What a Character" guide begins with a thorough introduction to character representation concepts and Unicode. Following that are practical code demonstrations covering international text handling using regular expressions, case conversion, and numeric data extraction. Additionally, there's a section dedicated to encoding with UTF-8 and UTF-16, including detailed bit-level insights for those interested. Whether you prefer reading or watching, there's even a video presentation available for your convenience.

On GitHub, sualeh/What-a-Character

I would love to have your comments!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
rialistic profile image
Riia Järvenpää

I have only read a sample of the slides, and thanks they are really informative! I've only recently started trying to learn how and why not non-standard-English and Unicode characters render in different settings, and this repository seems super helpful - and I bet it's valuable for more experienced Unicode geeks also.

I'll get back if I have some more substantial comments, or questions ☺︎