DEV Community

Sudarshan Gaikaiwari
Sudarshan Gaikaiwari

Posted on

We are programmers, not typists [expletive deleted]

In a very memorable episode from the original Narcos, there is a scene where Pablo Escobar's cousin - Gustavo is captured by the police and tortured. When he is asked for the location of Pablo, he replies - "I am a bandit, not a snitch".

Identity is one of the strongest human motivations. As in the case of Gustavo, once he identified himself as a bandit, no amount of torture could have extracted any information from him.

I had been working as a software developer for a very long time before I changed my perspective and decided to identify myself as a programmer. Once I did that, I found that I approached problems differently than I would previously.

Here is an example.
I work with a VueJs frontend which accesses a bunch of microservices. To access these services we use a proxyTable like so

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
sshine profile image
Simon Shine

It feels like this blog post is missing a punchline...

It never reaches the point made in the title.

Also, is a typist someone who types or someone who uses type theory?

Collapse
 
theurbandev profile image
Matthew J.

My thoughts exactly lol

Collapse
 
alainvanhout profile image
Alain Van Hout

Or someone who biasedly judges objects based on their type alone? :)