DEV Community

Cover image for How I Increased My Blogs Traffic To Over 29,000 Page Views In My First 20 Days Blogging
Suhail Kakar
Suhail Kakar

Posted on • Originally published at blog.suhailkakar.com

How I Increased My Blogs Traffic To Over 29,000 Page Views In My First 20 Days Blogging

The most typical question asked by new bloggers is, "How can I gain more visitors to my blog?"

It's been around 20 days since I started blogging on Hashnode ( My main blog ), DEV, and Devdojo, and I reached more than 29,000 page views. Since then, I've been getting a lot of questions about how I increased my traffic, therefore I'll put it all out in this article.
screely-1628604766912.png
screely-1628604825619.png
screely-1628604899249.png

As you can see, I received 11,109 visitors in DEV, 15,149 visitors in Hashnode, and 2,817 in Devdojo which is a total of 29,075. And the strategies that I used are

1. Publishing articles consistently

I published a new blog article every day ( or at least 1 article per two days ) and I've never gone more than a week without blogging.

After doing some research, I discovered that the more often I published an article, the more frequently my readers returned to my site.

2. Writing a catchy blog title

Your whole article depends on your articles' headline, so the more catchy / best title your write for your article, the more visitors you will get.

For more information here is a detailed article regarding "Blog Title Formulas That Will Boost Your Traffic":👇
https://coschedule.com/blog/catchy-blog-titles

3. Finding a good keyword

If you want to have traffic from search engines such as Google, Bing, Yandex and etc. then you need to find the correct keyword for your articles. Most beginners just rely on their best guesses when creating content. As you can imagine, this strategy is a hit or miss.

If you use this strategy, then there’s a high chance that your articles will likely not rank high in search engines.

4. Optimizing Website Speed

Your visitors aren’t going to wait around for your blog to load. If your page isn’t coming up fast enough, they’ll hit the back button and move on to the next Google listing (i.e your competitor).

That is why the first thing that I made sure it is fine was my website speed. As a newbie in blogging, I tried many platforms such as WordPress, Blogger, Ghost CMS and etc. But finally, I stopped at Hashnode. Hashnode blogs are completely optimized. By the way Devdojo and DEV are fully optimized too

5. Promoting articles on social media

Every time after publishing an article, I would definitely post it on Twitter, Facebook, and Linkedin with related tags such as #javascript #python #web_development. This helped me to get most of my traffic from social media

6. Interacting with other developers

From the time when I started blogging besides writing articles, I got the habit of reading articles too 😉 so I started going through other articles, reading them, and commenting on their article. This helped me to get a little Traffic too.

Conclusion

That is it, folks, hope you found this article helpful. If you need any help please let me know in the comment section.

Let's connect on Twitter and LinkedIn

👋 Thanks for reading, See you next time

Top comments (0)