DEV Community

Cover image for My first UX course with @CodigoFacilito
Gabriela Muñoz
Gabriela Muñoz

Posted on

My first UX course with @CodigoFacilito

Image description

Hi! Last year I did my first UX course at Codigo Facilito. In this article I would like to share my experience and the steps I followed. This is not a recipe, it's my experience.

The audience

The first step I did was to understand who the audience is, of course. How old are they and what do they do? People will attend the course.
This course is for frontend students that are interested in learning user experience and best practices to do frontend. Considering this, I began to design the curriculum.

Curriculum

I had many ideas in my mind. I was not sure what to teach.
I started to watch some courses from the Codigo Facilito to understand how to speak and to connect the dialogues. I began my course with design concepts and UX elements with the 5 Elements UX of Jesse James Garret. Why five elements? Basically, the five elements are the design process or phases of design whatever you want to say! Then I thought of including a project during the course and each element / phase students can learn and practice.

Before this course, I created a curriculum and I used a table with the following elements:

  • Module
  • Class
  • Objective
  • Activity or deliverable
  • Video or document - in the case of classes with video I also marked them

Image description

Once I had the syllabus, I reworked it with the Codigo Facilito team and with mentors who helped me understand how to organize the topics and then I continued to the next step.

Content

The content is the most important part of the course. This step was difficult. I spent many hours making a summary for each class and some images that helped me to explain them.
At this moment, I had the curriculum and content but I needed to know how to explain it to the class. For this reason, I decided to write a script.

Script

According to Wikipedia, Script is a text that exposes, with the necessary details for its realization, the content of a film, a cartoon, or a radio or television program. In other words, it is a piece of writing that contains the indications of everything that the work requires for its staging.

I was stressed because I didn’t see anything!
This step was the most difficult. I asked myself: “what is the best way to explain and how do you keep people's attention in a video?”
In my case the script was functional to explain the content from introduction and topics to teach. I realized that giving a talk has nothing to do with doing a recorded course.

Recording

I had never recorded before. I didn’t know what I was doing. I recorded with OBS. At the beginning my laptop did not support the program, so I had to wait for my new M1 MacBook Air to arrive.

My first video test was testing the microphone and light. I was not sure about the scene and lighting. Fortunately in my apartment there was a green wall, so I changed my “studio” to the living room.
Then I started to record. Some of them had a lot of noise, others didn't. Little by little I started to improve them.

Conclusions:

This was my first course and I was happy to accept this challenge. Sometimes I thought I was not good enough, I didn’t know how to do it. I learned a lot about recording a course, designing a curriculum and how to teach it. I recognized that I needed to learn more and more about UX for other courses.
To finish I just want to thank Uriel for giving me the opportunity in Codigo Facilito.
I hope for future collaborations!

Check out my course! https://codigofacilito.com/cursos/fundamentos-ux

Tools:

  • MacBook Air (M1, 2020)
  • Microphone: HiperX SoloCast
  • Recording software: OBS

Thank you for reading! :)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
luisignaciocc profile image
Ignacio Collantes

Super nice!How did they come to you to give the course? Is there a list of job offers or something?