DEV Community

suzynakayama
suzynakayama

Posted on

59 Days to Become a Full-Stack Developer

Yes, you read this right. 59 days was all I had to start this new career. No, I do not think I am a complete full-stack developer, but I can assure you that I am on the right path.

How? You ask me, so I'll tell you a little story...


My Background

I am a Brazilian living in Canada. Before coming to this cold and wonderful place, I used to live in Rio de Janeiro, or as we call it: Hell de Janeiro... 😈 super hot in there πŸ”₯

I used to be an intellectual property lawyer and worked in a great firm with Italian brands (yes, those that you are thinking of...no, never got a car, a purse or anything else...).

After realizing that life there was not what we wanted, my husband and I decided to move to Toronto. I decided I was going to study Culinary Management. -Yes, it's a big change-.

After 3 years of cooking, I realized that I was not happy, I loved every minute, but that wasn't what I wanted to do for the rest of my life, nor was law. So I decided to change....but, change to what? πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ πŸ€”

My husband is a Project Manager and said I should try software development again (yes, I did 6 months in Brazil).

So, before quitting and deciding to do some coding, I took a few online courses, just to be sure that I liked that. And do you know what? I LOVED! Every single thing in this field makes me want to be better, to learn more and to conquer more. πŸ’ͺ

And that's when the 59 days come to the story...


Coding Bootcamp

I registered to General Assembly Toronto* (previously known as Bitmaker Labs) for their Software Engineering Immersive. 3 months of intense and full time course where we learned a good range of subjects like:

  • HTML, CSS, JS, jQuery
  • Node.js, MongoDb, Mongoose
  • Python, Django, and PostgreSQL
  • React and Redux

We had classes all day + homework + projects + extracurricular studies... πŸ’»

So, in 59 business days, our amazing teacher taught us the base of all these subjects, a few other extracurricular things, and the most important thing: how to continue after the Bootcamp. Oh! And, of course, that we need to read the docs! πŸ“–

It was intense, fierce and profound, there were dark days, but we had each other to lean on, my classmates and I became a family (after all, we were seeing each other more than our actual family). It was one of the most amazing experiences I had so far and from that, all I can say is:

I might not be a complete full-stack developer, but I am definitely on the right path... πŸ‘£


*Oh, yeah...I'm not here to promote GA, just to share my story...

And btw, this is my first post, please feel free to let me know how I can improve. πŸ–‹οΈ

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
rhythmusbyte profile image
Akhil Mahesh

You are doing an amazing job! You are on the right path and will achieve your dream soon.

Collapse
 
unknown645 profile image
unknown645

Hlo Mam !
Your Journey is So inspiring!
Keep Growing πŸ’—