DEV Community

swyx
swyx

Posted on

Hello, I am making a modern fullstack JS tutorial livestream. What questions do you have for me?

When I first started out in FreeCodeCamp, I found ClementineJS to be very helpful in integrating separate bits of frontend and backend knowledge. However it is more than 2 years out of date and a lot of the code looks very janky now.

I wanted to make an update to ClementineJS that focuses on different choices, eg using Create-React-App instead of writing the frontend without a framework, and using Mongoose instead of the raw mongodb interface. I also think there are a bunch of other smaller pain points around making a fullstack app including authentication, frontend routing, and styling.

Prerequisite knowledge:

  • HTML/CSS/JS (including ES6)
  • Basic React
  • Very Basic NodeJS/Express
  • (optional) Webpack, npm

I'm tentatively calling this SunburstJS and the format is basically me remotely teaching my partner John how to make this repo from scratch in a series of live stream videos.

My purpose is simply teaching-to-learn and giving back to the community.

I wanted to include the wonderful dev.to community so um here I am (actually not sure if this is the right place but whatev). Does this sound like it might help? what do you want included? do you want to participate? lmk.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
aswathm78 profile image
Aswath KNM

If possible make it in small bits than one long video.

Collapse
 
swyx profile image
swyx • Edited

It will be an hour each and i'll try to put timestamps :) i can try to chop it up into small bits later

Collapse
 
aswathm78 profile image
Aswath KNM

Thanks for the reply .

If possible please do comment more in your code and add subtitles if possible.

People from different regions have different accents .

Subtitles will be easier to understand .

Add a little theory as possible .

Like if you are using Nosql db explain why you are using that than traditional db .

That's all I'll expect .

Collapse
 
heronrs profile image
Heron Rossi

If possible, best practices for handling CSS on React Apps please :)

Collapse
 
swyx profile image
swyx

If you are just seeing this, come over to the live stream happening at 4pm GMT! youtube.com/watch?v=NS55ww28KwI