DEV Community

Andrii Sych
Andrii Sych

Posted on

Git remote branches

This week we had to add a feature to another person's repository. To be specific, we were required to add a default configuration TOML file inside of user's $HOME folder, that contains default parameters for a CLI tool. I have contributed to readMeMaker repository:
https://github.com/jadorotan/readMeMaker.git

Jadorotan's code was located all in one file, so it was pretty simple to work with it. I just had to install a library called tomli and add a function which reads default configuration file, if it is provided. All the changes were inside of approximately 10 lines of code.

I have switched to wsl completely for my development and work. I've had problems with interacting with Debian shell. To be exact, I had troubles managing user permissions and for some reason in the commit history of Jadorotan's pull request you can see how the user who committed is not SychAndrii, but root user, which is my Debian user.

Thanks to professor Humphrey's lectures, I have completely understood what branches are - just names for commits that move forward over time. I had no troubles switching between remote and local branches and merging changes from feature branch to main branch.

Having completed this lab, I have learned about how to manage many git remotes (not just origin).

Top comments (0)