DEV Community

Cover image for My Mock Interview Experience with interviewing.io
Susannah Medley
Susannah Medley

Posted on • Updated on

My Mock Interview Experience with interviewing.io

Anonymous and free (or paid) mock interviews online: Free mock interviews are done peer-to-peer by members on the website. You can pay for a premium interview with an experienced interviewer from a FAANG company. I did the free one.

To sign up for interviewing.io, I had to pass a coding test, which was done through codility.com.

Very Cool: you can watch other people’s previous interviews before you do your own. You see their screen and hear audio from recorded interviews. https://start.interviewing.io/showcase This is incredibly valuable! Watching and listening to an interview on the platform helped a lot to get me oriented. I felt less awkward during my interview.

Even Better! You can watch a replay of your own mock interview watching how the interviewer makes annotations on your performance in real time!
LIKE: it’s audio and shared work space, no video.
LIKE: It’s anonymous unless you choose to reveal your identity, and they help you quickly create a catchy pseudonym.

I’m an anxious, jittery person, so doing a mock interview before a real one is a necessity. I just did my first mock interview with interviewing.io. It was a great experience! Although your mileage may vary.

I chose to do a coding interview (algorithms/data structures). The person doing the interview was another regular member like me. So theoretically this platform allows you do try out either side.
Their online coding environment is not quite like anything I’ve seen before, but it works. There are 3 columns of information, and there isn’t quite enough real estate, so you have to keep readjusting the columns to be able to read the text. Tip: A very large monitor is helpful. Also, there is no VIM or Emacs emulation.

So far I give this platform a big thumbs up! You have no idea who you’ll get as a mock interviewer, so your experience will be different than mine. That’s luck of the draw. Keep trying!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
iandouglas profile image
ian douglas

Great intro! I'm a mock interviewer on the platform and it's a lot of fun being able to give people feedback after an interview!