DEV Community

TD
TD

Posted on • Updated on

Hacktoberfest Wrap-Up: Minor Contribution to Linked

Three days, 1 PR? That's distressing.

Luckily, I got an opportunity to contribute to the Linked project.

About Linked

Linked enables users to declutter their minds and record their thoughts through journaling.

The Issue

Linked is a reasonably new journaling tool that has yet to implement the spell-check feature. Therefore, there is no point in underlining words containing typos at this point. You can read more about the issue here.

Image description

The Fix

The solution was to disable spell-check by passing it as prop with the value of false. See the PR here.

Challenges Encountered

  • Familiarizing myself with Vue
  • Trouble running Linked on node version 18.2. I had to downgrade to version 16 to make it work on my machine

Outcome

The editor no longer complains if you misspell words.

Image description

Final Thoughts on Hackotberfest

  • Overall, I had fun contributing to different projects and working with developers around the globe
  • I learned that it is easier to contribute to a project if I am genuinely interested in using it in my everyday life.
  • A minor contribution is enough to boost my confidence significantly.
  • Do it for the experience, not the perks.

Top comments (0)