DEV Community

Hazmi Irfan
Hazmi Irfan

Posted on

Project #1, 2021 - Logname, a portfolio/resume website for developer.

Hi everyone,

My name is Hazmi and I love to build website on my free time. Although on my previous project I solely focus on building it, this year I want to try something different which is to try and blog as much as I can while building it.

So, introducing my first project for this year Logname - https://www.logname.dev - A portfolio/resume website for developers.

Why am I building this?

1. There is not one website for me to represent my professional developer presence.

As a developer, I always think that you need to have an online presence in order to stand out for better job opportunity.

Having LinkedIn account is not enough and that is why I also post technical blog here on Dev.to.

I also have active GitHub account where I pinned the project that best represent my skill set.

So as you can see my past experience(LinkedIn), blog posts(Dev) and active projects(GitHub) are all on a separate website.

If I want to apply for a job I have to provide 3 links. I also need to make sure all 3 are updated accordingly for example if I want to change my profile picture.

Hopefully if Logname takes off in the future, I only need to provide 1 url instead of 3.

2. I hate LinkedIn walled garden.

I have to admit I open LinkedIn on a daily basis and it is a great website to build networks.

But I hate that I cannot easily access my own data using API. I get it if they don't want 3rd party application to abuse the API but at the very least I should be able to get my own data to do what I want.

I got an idea last time to export my LinkedIn data to reusable format so I can create my own resume but unfortunately that is not allowed.

With Logname, you can export it into JSON Resume format so that you are free to do whatever you want with it.

It is your data after all!.

3. I am bad at designing resume.

If I were good at designing I probably will not become a developer in the first place. I know there is a lot of website that can help me build beautiful resume but resume is not a one size fit all solution.

A resume for developer is different than a resume for a civil engineer. I still need to do some manual work and if I want to use another resume generator? I need to do the manual work again.

With Logname, you can export it into JSON Resume format and access over 250+ themed resume.

4. Keeping my resume up to date.

Although most of my info are the same provided I am in the same company, some do change for example my list of projects in the resume. Project in my resume always correspond to my GitHub pinned repository to provide consistency and if that change, I also need to update my resume.

With Logname, because you can connect your GitHub and Dev account, your resume and portfolio will always be up to date.

So with all the reason above, I decide to built Logname.

Do check it out and register if you are interested!.

In the next post I will be explaining why I'm going to be using Magic Link for registration and login and how I will be implementing it technically.

Stay Tuned!

Top comments (0)