DEV Community

Cover image for 6 ideas about why learning to code is worth it
tellitwithcode
tellitwithcode

Posted on

6 ideas about why learning to code is worth it

Coding as a tool of communication

As a fan of communication and foreign languages I found the reason why coding could be interesting for me as a way of communicating with computers.

Coding as a way to freedom and saving more time

Coding is a skill that could be done from anywhere, but not only that. The code helps to create tools that are used for repeatable tasks. I think that when we can automate some repeatable tasks we gain time. We can then use it for different events in our lives than working on repeatable tasks.

Coding has high earning potential

Coding is a skill that belongs to skills of high-income potential right now. It is not the only motivation but I think it is something that could be a pleasant result of it.

Coding is a way to train the brain

I think that as we train muscles we also need to train our brain and this is a good way to do it 🙂 Not the only one, but one of them.

Coding as a way of craftsmanship

I always admired skilful craftsmen who could build things from scratch. While admiring others, I also wanted to know how to build something. I chose to learn how to build software as I see the future in it 🙂

Coding as a tool for problem solving

This can be very useful also in every day life. Defining the problem and finding the right solution approach could be applied also in a lot of situations that we face in everyday life. Practicing this skill thanks coding is a win.

What is your #motivation and #why you think learning to code is worth it?

Top comments (0)