DEV Community

Paula
Paula

Posted on

Promoting myself in a Hacker Con

I'm giving a speech in September in Valencia, Spain, about Internet Censorship and how to fight against it. But the event itself is a huge opportunity to meet people interested in hacking, security and even find job opportunities. So I struggled to think a way to make myself noticed. I spent a while thinking the most geek things, and I selected a few of them, now I'm sharing one:

QR code temporary tattoo linked to my CV webpage. I'm a big fan of tattoos, I already have three, and not long ago I thought "hey it would be cool to have a QR code on me". Of course I wouldn't tattoo myself for this event but having a temporary tattoo is a fun, cheap, easy idea to promote myself. Today they arrived in my home, so I decided to try one of them (I bought a bunch!) and it worked perfectly.I bought them in StickerYou.com and designed it online. I created my webpage using github and html W3C templates. It was a lot of fun, and if it works and grabs some hackers attention, it will be even better!

Hope you liked this tip. Please share your tips for grabbing professional attention in tech if you feel like it!

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
thebouv profile image
Anthony Bouvier

Do people still use QR codes and have the scanning apps readily on their phones? It's a cool idea, but I haven't scanned a QR code in years (except for cyptocurrencies and the apps for that wouldn't do anything with your QR code tattoo).

I love the enthusiasm though and I hope it gets you the views of your CV that you want! Best of luck!

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

QR codes are REALLY big in China. It's one of their main form of communications, mostly because their biggest social network WeChat uses them for everything.

Snapchat also bought a QR code scanning company for $50M, and they're seeing a rise again in the US. They definitely fell off the bandwagon for a while though.

Collapse
 
terceranexus6 profile image
Paula

Thanks! well, some phones (mine for example) can scan QR codes even with the standard camera. It's not widely used, but there's a chance in a tech convention full of tech geeks, they have such scanners. Let's hope!

Collapse
 
lavigi profile image
eva

Hey Paula, that's a great idea. Can you give us more details about the talk in Valencia? Date, time and venue? Thanks!!!

Collapse
 
terceranexus6 profile image
Paula

For sure! The event itself is called "RootedCon" and it's in "Plaza Virgen de la Paz, 3, 46001 Valencia" on September 15th and 16th. My speech is about Internet Censorship in different countries and how to fight against them as a hacker, user or journalist. I'm performing a huge investigation on the matter since I finished studying investigative journalism. This is the webpage I created for it. Thanks for the interest! :)

Collapse
 
damcosset profile image
Damien Cosset

That is a really cool idea! Good luck!

Collapse
 
taggervng profile image
tag hatle

That looks really cool, I dig it! I think having it on your body makes the experience a lot more personal too, it's really memorable.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Super awesome! I think your creativity alone would get you hired.