DEV Community

Harutyun Mardirossian
Harutyun Mardirossian

Posted on

What companies should care about when it comes to employees

What happened to the world, especially IT, in 2020? COVID-19 has changed a lot in company management. Due to the risk of getting sick, companies switched from the office to full remote. Employees moved their entire work environment to their home office. Indeed, many complained that it was unproductive and work could not be combined with the family, but after some time most of the employees (about half) began to notice the core benefits of remote work. I have been working remotely for a long time, at first, I did not like it and when COVID restrictions weren't so strict and companies started going back to their offices I decided that I should quit my job and get a job at another company to work from the office. So I got a job, returned to the office style of work and realized that I was wrong. I worked less when I was a remote worker, but I was twice as productive. Now I work more, but now my work is less productive. I found that remote work is much more enjoyable, you work when you want, where you want, and at the end of the day your task is done, but in general, you spend much less time on work. I'm not the only one who thinks so. The year is 2022, and many are leaving for remote work. People have changed, and companies should consider moving to a hybrid way of working.

I believe that companies should start caring about the well-being of employees, and not about their presence in the office. IT is a sphere of freedom, you should be comfortable working and being creative. Development/engineering is a creative job, and isolation or lack of comfort is bad for it. The pandemic has shown us that we must spend time with people we love and make choices that are good for our families.

Companies SHOULD BE concerned about:

  • the quality of the final product
  • employees' well-being and environment
  • employees' happiness

Companies SHOULD NOT worry about:

  • who and when comes and goes from the office
  • how much time the employee spends at work
  • planning restrictions and penalties for staff

Top comments (0)