DEV Community

Cover image for Week 1 of Coding Period in GSoC
Amanjot Singh
Amanjot Singh

Posted on

Week 1 of Coding Period in GSoC

Hello there! Let me tell you my experience of the first week of coding period in GSoC. Fasten your seatbelts and get ready for the ride.

The coding period started on the 7th of June 2021. To have proper context I would suggest having a look at the community bonding period first if you have not seen that blog From the checklist I submitted in my proposal I was already done with one task. You can read my proposal here

Before I start writing about my first week I would love to share that I followed a commit standard that I read once on GitHub in a gist. Though I couldn't follow all the standards though I tried my best and thinking of following them further in other work as well.

  1. Commit messages must have a subject line and may have a body copy. These must be separated by a blank line.
  2. The subject line must not exceed 50 characters
  3. The subject line should be capitalized and must not end in a period
  4. The body copy must be wrapped at 72 columns
  5. The body copy must only contain explanations as to what and why, never how. The latter belongs in documentation and implementation.

The first thing I was doing when the coding period started was upgrading the Meteor version. This task was done already but I ran into a problem on my machine. I was not able to run any Meteor project on my machine. It took me a day to figure out the issue. I searched a lot about the issue and found some solutions from the internet and my mentor. I reinstalled the Meteor on my machine and removed .meteor/local folder and it got started again. The actual error was undefined symbol: node_module_register When I searched for the solution I found this error occurs when we compile the node modules with different versions from what we are using at the moment. You can have a look at the whole problem on stackoverflow. You can have a look on PR here

Then I moved ahead to fix the issue of the route when uploading the model. The issue was when we upload a model on OGV it takes the user to model preview route where in case of error it was not preventing the user to see that 404 page. Putting the route in condition solved this issue. You can have a look at issue here and PR here

PS I'm writing this blog after the end of week 2 because I wanted to write things in a new format and didn't get time to experiment with it during weekdays. This week my final practical exams were also going on so it was a kind of messy week. Everything went well in the end.

Top comments (0)