DEV Community

Cover image for Edpresso creator spotlight: Benjamin Chibuzor-Orie
TheEdpressoCommunity
TheEdpressoCommunity

Posted on

Edpresso creator spotlight: Benjamin Chibuzor-Orie

Alt Text

Benjamin Chibuzor-Orie is the creator of "Find the integer that appears once in an array", the shot that received the most views of any externally authored shot in April 2020. Chibuzor-Orie has been playing with code for seven years but has only been doing it professionally for four (this includes 2020).

"Just like every other growing child, I was very interested in games, but the twist to it was that I really wanted to make my own games." Chibuzor-Orie ventured into game development using XNA and C# from Microsoft in 2013 when he was 13. He marks this as the start of his dev career.

"I didn't really take a career as a programmer/software developer seriously due to the stigma my mom placed on the field at the time. It wasn't until I was awaiting admission into the University in 2016 that I finally took it up as a career. I didn't gain admission that year, which was ample time for me to sharpen my programming skills. Two months from the day I decided to take my career seriously, I got my first gig. I was really excited the day I got it."

For Benjamin, blogging is a way to stay relevant in the tech community as helping the community and being recognized for it has always been a big deal for him. He says, "As a backend developer, there's no better way to show off my knowledge to the community and help with problems they might have except by directly connecting with them. Sadly, there is NO API that does that; so, writing is a big deal for me."

Benjamin basically writes about everything he does, no matter how small it is, because "even if no one reads it, sooner or later I'll need it."

Check out his shot "Find the integer that appears once in an array" on Edpresso or connect with him on Twitter.

Top comments (0)