DEV Community

Cover image for Hey Student Techies! How do you cope with school and work ?
Florence O.
Florence O.

Posted on

Hey Student Techies! How do you cope with school and work ?

When I decided to explore technical writing, I remember saying to a friend that I would love to be consistent with it and try to publish an article once a week, well that consistency ended in week two lool. So I usually drop an article every Sunday and for the third week, I had written out my topic since Saturday(a day before), I knew what I wanted to write about, I did my research and was still on it when I got overwhelmed with school work.

At that time, I was running a 6 weeks compulsory training program, it was 3 units course so you know I had to give it my all. Fast forward to Sunday(March 14th), I totally forgot about my article and didn’t remember until few days later lmao, funny story ? I picked it up on Wednesday and forgot to finish it again 😂. To be honest, at some point I got scared of writing an article that wouldn’t bang like the first two(My wine glass article and My SheCoded IWD article) but that isn’t even the case here anymore, I still very much want to keep writing technical articles.

Right now, I really wonder how other students like me cope with school, work, side projects, and personal lives. It can seem like a lot to handle and overwhelming sometimes(actually all the time to be fair) because you worry about a lot of things haha. I mean, I try to deliver the best on projects while also keeping school in mind so that’s a lot to worry about.

I decided to pick it up this night(it’s 11:52 in my time zone) but with a different topic, I just want to know how students in tech juggle school and work. A new week is starting tomorrow, I have series of tests coming up and about 3 pending projects to complete before the end of the month. What are your coping mechanisms? How do you set up a structure ? How do you stick to the structure ? How do you ensure neither suffers? Is it supposed to be this hard ?! Send help please ❤️

Conclusion

Ps: I don’t joke with taking breaks, I know the body can only take a lot so I rest when I’m tired from doing both. The issue now is how do I stop feeling guilty from take a break to watch Netflix ? 😂

Ah yes, that article I haven’t finished in weeks is still in the drafts. I’ll definitely finish it up and share with you guys soon!

illustration from

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
thebigl profile image
Leonard Morrison

I look up what's on Twitter, play video games on my Switch, and watch some shows like It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Silicon Valley, among others. I also study different things related to Software Development outside of what I'm being taught in class.

Collapse
 
theflorz profile image
Florence O.

This is nice!!! Oh yes, twitter is my go to to unwind and to check what’s new but it can be pretty addicting 😂. I also like to watch movies but I think it’s a lil overwhelming right now because of my back to back tests in school lately so no learning new technologies for me at the moment 😢