DEV Community

Vinit Gupta
Vinit Gupta

Posted on • Updated on

Pigshell x Appwrite Hackathon

Recently, I came across the Appwrite hackathon. It seemed a cool way for me to get better acquainted with the Appwrite service, since I have been seeing it a lot on Dev news.
So here I am with the idea for my submission.

What am I building?

Being in my 3rd year of CS Engineering, I have been introduced to image processing. It is really an interesting domain to work in.

So to get familiar with it, and what better way that building something in hackathon, I have decided to build a Web App.
It is a really simple one : a pixel to ASCII filter.

Great projects have awkward names. So I decided to name it :

Pigshell

Sounding familiar? Well, pixel, pigshell.

The basic features include :

  1. Uploading an image and converting it into ASCII image.
  2. Saving it in the users account.
  3. Retrieving them from any where.

Tech Stack

Tech Used for
ReactJS Frontend
Appwrite Backend
CSS Styling
Javascript Language

Follow Ups

In a distant or near future, I will also try to integrate video conversion from pixels to ASCII.
Also, add a video recording and uploading to account option.

You can checkout my Github Pigshell repository for code updates!!

Happy Hacking.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
thevinitgupta profile image
Vinit Gupta

Thanks a lot