DEV Community

Cover image for How to make Hacktoberfest contributions counted in not opted-in project
Thew
Thew

Posted on • Updated on

How to make Hacktoberfest contributions counted in not opted-in project

This year, there is a major change in how contributions are counted.

Unlike in previous years, 2020 Hacktoberfest contributions must be made in projects that have specifically chosen to join the celebration.

Each PR must be made on Hacktoberfest-classified repos. Your PRs will either need to be merged, approved, or labeled as hacktoberfest-accepted in order to add to the total count.

Read more about this change on note from DigitalOcean and post from The DEV Team. ❤️

This is bad for people who would like to contribute to their favorite projects which haven't opted-in. You may open random PRs to your own repos but this is still spammy.

There is a solution better than that.

Solution

Note: This is an example pull request. You must make a contribution that is meaningful and follows PR etiquette.

Update (2020/10/05 15:00 UTC): No longer need the first step.

  1. Tag your fork repository with hacktoberfest. hacktoberfest eligible fork
  2. Beside create a pull request back to the origin repository, create a pull request to the default branch inside the fork repository. create a pull request in fork
  3. Label that pull request with hacktoberfest-accepted.

Now that pull request in fork will be counted toward completing the Hacktoberfest challenge! 🎉

counted pull request

For more tips like this one, you can follow me on Twitter or buy me a coffee.

Top comments (12)

Collapse
 
pratham82 profile image
Prathamesh Mali

Dude I've made the PR before 3 oct but not opted in hacktoberfest so will they consider my PR?

Collapse
 
thewdhanat profile image
Thew

Yes, you can check your hacktoberfest profile.

Collapse
 
pratham82 profile image
Prathamesh Mali

I've checked it it shows that I've submitted 4 PRs for hacktober Fest challenge. Thanks for the help.

Collapse
 
mindset profile image
Jayesh Tembhekar ⚡

I wonder, Is it Okay to do this?

Collapse
 
thewdhanat profile image
Thew • Edited

I think it is ok if you are doing valuable contributions. Since this change, many people have complaint that existing tagged project is not suitable for them.

Collapse
 
mindset profile image
Jayesh Tembhekar ⚡

I have already made a PR on my own repo. Can I do another one? or should I look for other's repo?
I only need one to complete my 4PRs.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

How can I make sure my repos are Hacktoberfest-classified?
I already had some PR, I have to make sure I did things right 😄

Collapse
 
thewdhanat profile image
Thew

You can check your hacktoberfest profile.

Collapse
 
fennecdjay profile image
Jérémie Astor

Thank you!

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

You may open random PRs to your own repos but this is still spammy.

I'm not sure how your solution is much different.

Collapse
 
king11 profile image
Lakshya Singh

Wow this is certainly a way for people to just get Freebie without making proper and valid hacktoberfest contribution and hats off to you for promoting and providing this method 🙇🏻

Collapse
 
thewdhanat profile image
Thew

Actually, you can create PRs to your own repository if you really want Freebie. I'm thinking to obscure some steps to prevent no-brainer.