DEV Community

Tib
Tib

Posted on

The Perl and Raku Conference 2021

General

It's once again this time of the year! 😄

The Perl and Raku Conference (in the Cloud) is back!

It's happening tomorrow and you will be able to follow the talks on YouTube but if you really want to join the fest, you have to pay a small fee of 10$ to receive the precious password to join the conference (I recommend to to this).

You will then be able to join thanks to zoom

Links

  • Main page: start page that contains all the links
  • Schedule: to see all talks and their descriptions
  • Wiki: where you can find infos about BOFs and more

Last year

Last year I enjoyed a lot the conference and wrote this review, read it if you haven't already 😀

For the record, last year was announced Perl 7 🎉

My talks

This year, I took a step to become a speaker 😎

I prepared 2 talks, first one will be a lightning talk that I called "My big year of GitHub actions": I made so much GitHub workflows this year that I know a bit the limits (I used and abused a bit from this service). I came to know even some corner cases (or was pushed a little bit into them). I will tell you them, chronologically.

My second talk is called "Answering questions about CPAN that nobody asked" and is about experiments around package managers, CPAN/PAUSE, EUMM/MB, dependencies and versioning. I will guide you through my tests and I assure it will be entertaining and lightweight 👍
This one is longer and will also discuss a bit "general engineering practices" (applied to Perl ecosystem).

See you there (maybe?) 😃

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
smonff profile image
🌌 Sébastien Feugère ☔ • Edited

See you.

Collapse
 
thibaultduponchelle profile image
Tib • Edited

See you today for the last day of this great conference :)

Collapse
 
smonff profile image
🌌 Sébastien Feugère ☔

I finally didn’t manage to be there at all. I thought it was starting one day later and got horribly bored by the talks I attended (I guess I was in a bad mood or something).