DEV Community

MD Sarfaraj for This is Learning

Posted on

My Journey Into Tech

Reading the inspiring stories of other developers prompted me to share my journey. Everyone has a unique story worth sharing, and I'm excited to tell mine. So without further delay, let's get started!

Early Life

I was born on January 1st, 1999, on New Year's Day in Bihar, India. I always enjoy telling people about my birthday because it's a memorable date, and I grew up with everyone in the world being able to celebrate my birthday.

I was born into a low-income family. Due to our financial situation, I had to attend the local government school in my village. I completed my 8th standard there and then moved on to high school, where I finished my 10th with a first division.

I pursued the science with mathematics stream and began preparing for the 12th. I had to ride my bicycle 28 kilometres daily to attend coaching classes since they were far from my home. However, when I was in the 12th grade, I discovered that I had a dust and sun allergy, which made it incredibly challenging to keep up with my +2 preparation and commute. Nevertheless, I persevered and passed the exam with flying colours.

Moving to Kolkata

After completing my 12th, I was still figuring out what to do next. Eventually, I decided to learn computer skills and prepare for a government job. Most people will be aware that government jobs are more prevalent in Bihar.

I went to Howrah, West Bengal, where my father worked in a Jute Mill, and my father's company provided a small 10x10 feet room. Four people were already living in the room, and I became the fifth person. The living quarters the company provides for employees are in a small slum area, and the rooms are prone to flooding with contaminated water during the rainy season. Moreover, no private toilet facilities are available, and workers must use the company's public toilets.

After witnessing the challenging living conditions that my father and his colleagues endure, I have gained a deeper appreciation for his sacrifices to provide for our family.

Admission To Ramakrishna Mission Shilpamandira College

My father asked one of his colleagues for an opinion on the best place to study computer science in Kolkata with less budget. The colleague recommended Ramakrishna Mission Shilpamandira Computer Centre and ITI college, and we visited to explore our options.

At the college, a computer science teacher suggested that I enrol in the Certificate in Computer Application (CCA) course, a six-month program that would lay the foundation for my future studies and it will can help in government job preparation as well.

However, I faced several challenges during the course. I had previously attended a government college where the medium of instruction was Hindi, and I needed to familiarise myself with the technical terminology used in English. Additionally, most of my classmates and teachers spoke Bengali, which made it difficult for me to communicate effectively.

I focused on improving my English skills and worked hard to interact with my classmates and understand their language. Through dedication and perseverance, I completed the CCA course.

After completing the CCA (Certificate In Computer Application) course, I discovered my passion for software engineering. I decided to pursue it further by enrolling in the Certificate in Software Engineering (CSE) program. The two years I spent studying engineering passed by quickly, thanks to the exceptional quality of teaching and the positive college culture.

I often visited the Vivekananda temple near the college, and sitting by the river after my visits always made me feel good. The temple held a special place in my heart, and I found solace in its peaceful surroundings. It was a great escape from the hustle and bustle of daily life, and I often went there to reflect and recharge.

Landing into my first Job

In my final year of engineering, a startup company came to my college to recruit two PHP developers. I was interested in the opportunity because my family faced financial difficulties. After the interview, I received the news that I had got for the position. When I heard this news, it made me emotional.

I shared the exciting news with my class teacher, but he reminded me I still needed to finish my semester. He suggested attending evening classes so that I could work during the day. Thankfully, my employer understood and allowed me to leave work an hour early to attend my classes.

After a few days, I got assigned a project based on SocialEngine CMS. I need to customise the platform and make some custom plugins. SocialEngine uses a PHP ZendFramework, but when I first saw the code, it differed from PHP ZendFramework. And there were no more resources on Google where I could search and get more ideas for SocialEngine coding. Just one day, my manager showed me the code structure of SocialEngine and some basic coding stuff. He has other work to manage, so he could only give me a little time. So I used to work late at night in the office to ask doubts from him . Asking doubts from my manager and reading the source code, I learned SocialEngine after that, built many plugins, and completed the project.

The client I'm working for is in the UK. When I first spoke with him, I needed help understanding most of his words because his accent was very different from what I was used to. Despite my difficulty, he was incredibly cooperative and patient, and he even started speaking more slowly so that I could comprehend him better. Eventually, I got used to his accent and became more comfortable talking with him.

As time went on, our working relationship flourished. Not only did I enjoy collaborating with him, but I also appreciated his calm and professional manner. However, when I decided to leave my first company, I never expected what would happen next - he offered me a job in his company with better pay and a more prominent role! It was an excellent opportunity that I gratefully accepted.

Patience and understanding can pave the way for success and new possibilities in challenging situations.

Moving to Hyderabad

After spending over a year and a half working for a UK-based company, I left. As no new projects were on the horizon and we had completed all existing projects, I felt unchallenged and unfulfilled at home. As a result, I began actively seeking out onsite job opportunities.

Fortunately, I received an offer from ABSYZ Inc and relocated to Hyderabad in October 2022. The move brought new challenges, such as meeting new people from different parts of the country and adjusting to life in a new city.

In my previous two companies, I worked in small teams. However, I work in a big group in Hyderabad, where everyone's opinions are heard and valued. It has been a great learning experience as it taught me the importance of active listening and effective communication.

I have never lived alone before. I lived with my mom in my hometown, and when I moved to Kolkata, I lived with my father. But after moving to Hyderabad, I am living alone and managing everything independently. It has been a challenging experience, but it has also helped me become more independent and self-sufficient.

What's Next

As a passionate developer, I have a few dreams that I would love to achieve. First and foremost, I want to write more blogs/articles and contribute to open-source projects to become a Flutter GDE. Sharing knowledge and experience is crucial for the growth of the tech industry, and becoming a recognised expert in my field would be an outstanding achievement.

Another dream of mine is to inspire more developers to write blogs and contribute to open-source projects. Collaborating and sharing ideas can build more vibrant and inclusive tech communities. I want to lead by example, encourage others to get involved, and positively impact the industry.

Finally, my ultimate career goal is to work as a Team Lead. I am passionate about helping other developers grow and evolve their skills, and I find great satisfaction in providing code reviews and ensuring the highest quality of work. Leading a team would allow me to make an even more significant impact and help others achieve their goals in the tech industry. I am excited to continue pursuing these dreams and making a positive impact in the tech community.

Conclusion

Life has been difficult, but challenges have helped me become stronger and more resilient. While I cannot predict the future, there will likely be more obstacles to overcome. However, facing challenges head-on is essential for personal growth and development.

Throughout my journey, I have learned to embrace life's ups and downs and never give up on my dreams. I am grateful for the opportunities and experiences that have shaped me into the person I am today, and I am excited to continue learning and growing in the future.

Ultimately, life is a beautiful journey full of twists and turns, and we must make the most of every moment. I am committed to facing challenges with courage and perseverance and excited to see where this journey takes me next.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
krlz profile image
krlz • Edited

Your journey from a low-income family to pursuing your passion for software engineering is something else, man. I mean, riding a bicycle 28 kilometers daily to attend coaching classes is nuts! But hey, you didn't give up.

Truly inspiring and filled with so much perseverance and determination. It's amazing to see how you overcame challenges at every step of your journey to reach where you are today. Your passion for software engineering is truly commendable, and it's great to see how you want to inspire other developers to contribute to open-source projects and share their knowledge. Your ultimate goal of becoming a Team Lead is something that will help you make an even greater impact in the tech community. Keep pushing forward and never forget to embrace every moment of this beautiful journey. Hope to see what you share in the community, thanks for sharing this!

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words!

Collapse
 
sridhar02 profile image
sridhar02

hi @yourmdsarfaraj I am also from hyderabad, if you are interested to in meeting new people ,if possible can you attend this event this saturday, I can meet you there
meetup.com/hyderabad-javascript/ev...

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Hello Sridhar,
I am always excited to meet new people but I am sorry I can't attend this Saturday, we have a plan to go somewhere else this Saturday. But no worry in future let me know I will be there. Thank you for you invitation.

Collapse
 
sridhar02 profile image
sridhar02

sure @yourmdsarfaraj check the meetup group for upcoming events , we can meet in future.

Collapse
 
bybydev profile image
byby

It's inspiring to hear how you overcame the obstacles and challenges you faced along the way. Your advice about the importance of taking initiative and continuously learning is spot-on. It's amazing to see how far you've come.

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you for your kind words and appreciation :)

Collapse
 
apetryla profile image
Aidas Petryla

This is amazing story. I always adore how some people are ready to achieve their dreams. I believe that if one really wants something, he/she will find ways of achieving it even when it's tough. I also had my journey of finding my first programming job, but it's not even close to Your story. Inspiring! Looking forward to hear more from You!

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you so much for your kind and encouraging words! Everyone has a unique story worth sharing.

Collapse
 
itzz_okure profile image
Okure U. Edet KingsleyπŸ§‘β€πŸ’»πŸš€

This was inspiring. Thank you.

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you ☺️

Collapse
 
konz261 profile image
konz261

This is such a refreshing read and I commend you on your achievements. What a wonderful journey! You've done your family proud.

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you 😊

Collapse
 
satya_vajhala_47df2d642ea profile image
Satya Vajhala

Truly inspiring. All the best for your dreams.

Collapse
 
yourmdsarfaraj profile image
MD Sarfaraj

Thank you Satya