DEV Community

Tiffani Rojas ♡
Tiffani Rojas ♡

Posted on

When you started to become a Developer, what were your biggest goals?

MasterHead

I know we all start a new path in life with a simple idea, maybe a small annoyance in life you want to overcome, or maybe it was a lifetime goal to learn how to build code.

My overall question comes from wanting to see what drives everyone and find mutual ways to connect with one another. I find it interesting as to why a person wants to follow this career path or is it just your afterwork hobby?

*For me you ask? *
I have worked in the community of mental health (i.e: Individuals with disabilities) but have come to the realization that a lot of what is out there to use to communicate effectively is very limited for a person who is non-verbal. I have seen apps that are a small fee to use that have very limited functions on what can be inputted for a consumer to use or what it will speak out from a tablet for their care providers to hear. To be honest most of the products that are extremely helpful are very expensive and makes it hard for low income consumers to be able to afford it.

My goal?
I want to one day create a website/ app service that is free or very cost effective for these consumers to use in their everyday lives and be able to feel like they have gained their independence with a new task. As a caregiver it's very hard to not be able to communicate with your consumers so I know something like this can be very helpful to the community and can possibly help others in the community feel inspired to start to learn development!

So, what made you want to take this career path/ hobby on?

Top comments (0)