DEV Community

Cover image for The Magic of a Todo List
Makar
Makar

Posted on

The Magic of a Todo List

TLDR
Planning takes extra time, but it also helps you get the job done faster overall.

It seems to be true in any industry, not just Tech. I myself have learned it long before switching to software development -- it was a part of my academic writing course as a political science student. These were my takeaways from it:

  1. A study has been conducted among students and the resulting data backed the theory that planned work is faster overall.
  2. The process of how to actually do the planning academic writing looks pretty much to something we all do -- identify the scope and break them down to smaller tasks.

But to me planning also has a magical 🧙‍♂️ effect -- it makes things doable despite seeming too hard or tedious in the beginning. Time and again have I caught myself on the thought that I would never get done with learning some framework or completing a personal project if I hadn't added it to my todo list. It's just magic, I cant explain how it works exactly, but it does for me.

So just go ahead and try it for yourself -- pick a todo list software, break down a goal you have into a checklist and see if that works for you as well.

P.S. I myself keep my tasks and projects in Google Keep, while all learning objectives are tracked in Zealoq.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
nicklane profile image
Nicholas Lane

I am always looking for ways to help my workflow, and as simple as this method is.. I would be lying if I said I had a good to do list system!
+1 for the google keep recommend, will definitely try this moving forward!