DEV Community

Cover image for Which WebAPIs are supported on this device in this browser?
Toni Engelhardt
Toni Engelhardt

Posted on

Which WebAPIs are supported on this device in this browser?

I had trouble finding this out while working on two side project, both PWAs, Journalistic and RepoTracker.

As I ended up adding developer-only pages to each app, checking and displaying the status of the WebAPIs that I wanted to use and testing it in different browsers, I realized that is stupid. Better to have a tool that can do that independently of my apps without the hassle.

A few hours later webapicheck.com was up and running. Atm there are only a couple dozen APIs that get checked but I'm adding more as we speak.

It's ridiculously easy to use. Just open the page on the device and with the browser you want to check and you get an instant visual overview of the APIs that are supported/not supported and whether or not they are in experimental stage. Selected APIs even have a quick test with which you can try the APIs and play around at the click of a button.

If you're building modern web apps, try it out, would love to get some feedback.

πŸ™πŸ½ ✌🏽

Top comments (0)