DEV Community

Mohamed Anwer
Mohamed Anwer

Posted on

DEV Community mobile app

I just knew that DEV Community mobile app was released on Google Play.

Does anyone know the answer to these questions:

  • How is that app different from the PWA that I can add to my home screen?
  • If they are the same, how did they wrapped the PWA to add it to Google Play? Is it Cordova?
  • if DEV is a PWA, What's the framework used to build it.

update the first two questions answered in comments

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
tootis profile image
Mohamed Anwer

Ok I just stumbled upon the repo of the app and according it, I can answer the first two questions.

  • The app on Google play is just a web view for DEV.to
  • it's not wrapped using Cordova, it's just native Kotlin browser that opens the site url.
Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Answer to the third question: the website is built with Ruby on Rails and the frontend is a mix of vanilla JavaScript and Preact