DEV Community

Dennis Tretyakov
Dennis Tretyakov

Posted on

Would you ever go back to Angular from React?

I'm not trying to start a holy war!
I can remember a few years ago while having only theoretical knowledge on React, I had lots of discussions about the pros and cons of React vs Angular2.
Now after using React for about 2 years, I can't imagine any reason ever to use Anguar2. Unfortunately, occasionally I have to and it's a pain.

So, what I'm trying to find out, did I've got too obsessed with React? or it's really that much superior over Angular (and I assume others too, except preact)

Top comments (8)

Collapse
 
abdurrkhalid333 profile image
Abdur Rehman Khalid

I am working with Angular for the Past 3 Years and After Learning Angular I learned React and React Felt very easy and Addictive to me.

But it does not mean that it created the feeling in me to give up Angular for all and never return to it. I am working with Angular and Love it as well. And I will continue to work with Angular in the Future as well and it is a nice thing to have a side JavaScript framework on the side so that you can accept the challenge of modern technologies.

Collapse
 
tretyakovd profile image
Dennis Tretyakov

Well, I think I truly understand the point "Love it" and "Nice to have a side JavaScript framework", but those are more personal ones. Might be you could point out some more pragmatical benefits of Angular?

Collapse
 
abdurrkhalid333 profile image
Abdur Rehman Khalid
  1. Angular is a Complete Framework, you do not need any external libraries to perform your work.
  2. Angular has various kinds of form handling such as Reactive, Template Based, and Dynamic(I don't remember completely).
  3. Angular imposes to write strongly object-oriented code.
  4. There is no need to write another programming language(JSX) for same work that has been done already (HTML).
  5. TypeScript is easy to understand as compared to JSX.
  6. Each file, .ts, .HTML, .css and .specs.ts is separated so there is very less chances of clutter in code.
Thread Thread
 
tretyakovd profile image
Dennis Tretyakov • Edited

I'd argue some of these statements, but even assuming they r all valid. I don't see any of them as benefits that would result in the simplicity of development, testing, or maintenance.

Thread Thread
 
abdurrkhalid333 profile image
Abdur Rehman Khalid

It is okay, everyone has their own opinion on certain matters, and it is quite easy for testing and maintenance as every file is separated even the testing files are places alone.

Collapse
 
nekalv profile image
Nek Alvarenga

I haven't had the necessity to use angular again. I worked with AngularJS, 2+ for a couple of years, then I switch job and start with ReactJS. I can say depends on what you're building. Angular is a complete framework with MVC pattern and a lot of enterprise support, ReactJS is just a library that can be implemented however we preffer to do it. So you will find a lot of flavours out there.

Collapse
 
tretyakovd profile image
Dennis Tretyakov

Yes, like before diving into React, in my theoretical speculations, I was pointing a lot that Angular is a complete framework (more MVVM kinda framework, but not the point). Well ReactJS itself is a lib, but obviously comparing it to angular I don't mean comparison of a single lib vs framework. I mean comparison of entire ecosystems around both of them, including state management, testing, component frameworks, and etc. Where yes angular provides some of it out of the box, but react gives choices, what from my perspective is way more flexible than angular and especially when we talk about big enterprises system.

So I'm really curious If you could point up some pragmatic benefits of angular that might be there, maybe under some conditions. Cuz so far from my perspective react wins on simplicity, scalability, flexibility, testing, tooling, code sharing, and long term maintenance.

Collapse
 
wobsoriano profile image
Robert

Im staying with React and Vue.

I'd prefer jquery over angular. Just kidding.