DEV Community

Trishiraj
Trishiraj

Posted on

Enable smooth typing and cursor animation in VSCode

Not sure how many are aware of this, but i believe this kinda motivates you towards typing your codes all day long. Watching those lines of codes flow like butter along with your cursor is just another satisfying thing to watch for any programmer like the satisfying sounds of their mechanical keyboards. 😌

So in this article, I am just dropping a screenshot of my Cursor settings from VScode which you can apply and play around to see what suits you best.

Can be accessed by using

  • Ctrl/Cmd + P
  • Type "> User Settings"
  • Search for "cursor" Cursor settings screenshot

Happy coding! πŸ˜„

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
puka_tchou profile image
Puka Tchou

Nice one, it made me tweak my own cursor settings and I ended up with :

"editor.cursorSurroundingLines": 15,
"editor.cursorStyle": "underline",
"editor.cursorSmoothCaretAnimation": true,
"editor.cursorBlinking": "phase"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Thanks !

Collapse
 
andrie profile image
Andrie

I used the same settings, I just changed the cursor style to "block" instead of "underline".

Collapse
 
trishiraj profile image
Trishiraj

Good one!